Church Choice

Standard

How is one supposed to choose a church? I know, I know: the primary consideration should be doctrine but then what? It seems somehow wrong to base a decision that could have such a huge impact on your future life and plans on something as trivial as the style of music they play. That’s what most people choose their church because of, but I don’t want that to be me.

Should I base my choice upon the size of the congregation. Is a small church somehow innately more “spiritual” than a large one. Is a large church always really more “alive” than a small one. No. There are mega-churches that people attend only because it’s entertaining, and there are small churches that are the same way. There are small churches where the entire congregation is focused only on socializing, but there are large churches given to the same vice. The size of the church isn’t important.

But when you’re searching for a church, these two things, worship style and size, are the only ones that are immediately evident. Research is required to discover the more important stances of the church.

Here’s a precursory list of qualities that I look for in a church. It’s by no means exhaustive, nor is it in any particular order. As a side note, this post is more for the clarification of my own thoughts than for the education of any of you.

A genuine dedication to the Word of God

A genuine dedication to prayer

Active efforts to reach out to the community

Edifying, God-honoring worship

A willingness to embrace other believers as family

A commitment among the members to personal growth towards Jesus’ standard

Intentional ministries

Preaching centered around and grounded in the Bible

So that’s one of the things I’m working through right now. If you guys could pray for me that would be awesome.

2 responses »

  1. Hey man If I were you I would choose the one which is closest to your house, and pray for opportunities to fit in there.

    Where I live, there are not many churches, so great that you have that choice.

    • Hey, thanks for the comment. I’ve gotten into a really great God-centered church since I wrote this. I’m no longer doing posts on this blog, but I might write something up on my new church very soon at Singular Spectrum, a collaboration blog I’m involved with now. Check it out if you like.

Leave a Reply

